Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Our Sites

covecube.com 
community.covecube.com 
blog.covecube.com 
wiki.covecube.com 
bitflock.com 
stablebit.com 

Poll

No poll attached to this discussion.

In order to better support our growing community we've set up a new more powerful forum.

The new forum is at: http://community.covecube.com

The new forum is running IP.Board and will be our primary forum from now on.

This forum is being retired, but will remain online indefinitely in order to preserve its contents. This forum is now read only.

Thank you,

Advice for a RAID newbie?

edited May 2013 in DrivePool
Hi guys. First of all, I'm a complete RAID newbie so please bare with me :)

I've recently bought a HP MicroServer N40L as a dual-purpose NAS/Media Player. It has a 120GB SSD as the main OS (Windows 8) & applications drive and four 3TB Western Digital Red HDDs for storage of my media and data (eg. tv shows, movies, music, photos, documents, etc).

Now I've been advised that because it's a NAS and will be storing a lot of data I should go with a RAID setup to ensure that if a HDD or two fails, the data wont be lost and can be rebuilt if you plug in a HDD(s) to replace the dead or dying ones. Is Drive Pool the solution for me?

I was also told about FlexRAID and have seen people say they're using FlexRAID with Drive Pool - does that mean I will have to use both? What does FlexRAID do that Drive Pool doesn't and vice-versa?

Thanks guys :)

Comments

• edited May 2013 Member
    Sounds very similar to my setup :)
    I have a N36L with a 120GB SSD on the ODD connection and currently it's running with 1,5+1,5+3TB storage and is running Server 2012 doing NAS, seedbox, vm hosting etc.

If you need disc redundancy is up to you; if you don't really care if a disc fails and you loose all the data on it then you don't need RAID :)