Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Our Sites

covecube.com 
community.covecube.com 
blog.covecube.com 
wiki.covecube.com 
bitflock.com 
stablebit.com 

Poll

No poll attached to this discussion.

In order to better support our growing community we've set up a new more powerful forum.

The new forum is at: http://community.covecube.com

The new forum is running IP.Board and will be our primary forum from now on.

This forum is being retired, but will remain online indefinitely in order to preserve its contents. This forum is now read only.

Thank you,

How-to for the total noob???

edited March 2012 in DrivePool

I've had a WHSV1 for a couple of years and it seems like its dying.  I held off on WHS2011 because of lack of DE and have been lurking here for a while waiting for the release of DrivePool.  Thanks to all of the folks and especially Alex for getting DP in great shape.

So now I'm taking the plunge and going to go with a totally new server and use DP.  My question is, "What are the recommended steps for putting this all together?"

I'm thinking:

1.  Put only 1 drive in new WHS2011 server.

2.  Do any BIOS updates

3.  Install WHS2011

4.  Do all system updates

5.  Install DP???

6.  Next steps?  Add data drives?

Any recommendations on how to set up pools for a "standard" type of WHS2011 use?

I backup 3 machines per night.  Can these go on pooled drives?

I make use of the pictures, music, video shares on my WHSV1 and would like to do the same.  I also have another PC that is on 24/7 for Windows Media Center and it records all of my TV via cablecard tuner.  I'd like to transfer my recorded TV to a drive in my WHS pool.

My new setup is going to be an HP N40L Microserver with 2X2TB drives for data and a laptop drive for my OS.

Thanks!

Comments

• edited March 2012 Member