Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Our Sites

covecube.com 
community.covecube.com 
blog.covecube.com 
wiki.covecube.com 
bitflock.com 
stablebit.com 

Poll

No poll attached to this discussion.

In order to better support our growing community we've set up a new more powerful forum.

The new forum is at: http://community.covecube.com

The new forum is running IP.Board and will be our primary forum from now on.

This forum is being retired, but will remain online indefinitely in order to preserve its contents. This forum is now read only.

Thank you,

2720SGL support question

edited September 2012 in DrivePool
OK I am new to WHS 2011 and drive pool but I have a question that I can't seem to find the answer to. I put together a whs box and implemented a windows driven raid 5 array of 4 Samsung spinpoint disks. Until a week ago everything was fine until the array had failed redundancy and then upon me trying to fix it going all coocoo. Long story short I lost all my data. The disks are fine apparently there's rare occurrences with foreign disks in windows with certain raid controllers. So anyways I am now using drive pool and I paid for it but I want to add 4 more disks bringing my total to 8. I was looking at the highpoint 2720SGL and noticed there's a raid version and a non raid version. Is there a hardware diffrenece or can I buy the raid version and use JBOD. If I do use jbod when I plug mydisks with existing data will I loose it? Is anyone using this controller and if so does it work really well. Thanks.

Comments