Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Our Sites

covecube.com 
community.covecube.com 
blog.covecube.com 
wiki.covecube.com 
bitflock.com 
stablebit.com 

Poll

No poll attached to this discussion.

In order to better support our growing community we've set up a new more powerful forum.

The new forum is at: http://community.covecube.com

The new forum is running IP.Board and will be our primary forum from now on.

This forum is being retired, but will remain online indefinitely in order to preserve its contents. This forum is now read only.

Thank you,

Stablebit + Flexraid questions from a beginner

edited March 2013 in DrivePool
Hi I'm new to flexraid and need some advice how to setup my system best with stablebit which I have been using a long time. My system is that I have 1xssd as OS WHS 2011, 4 x 2 TB internal discs and a 2 TB external USB 3.0 on the way. All My 4x2 TB is in the pool.

My questions are the following:

1. Will it be best to use the new external as ppu and add the next external drives in the Future as dru? (I only have 6 sata on motherboard and pci slott is in use already)

2. Will my system be slow on day to day tasks primary streaming my media or will it only be when I first initialize and restoring?

3. I read somewhere that smaller Files like pictures should be out of flexraid and backed up through stablebit. Should I then have a separate drive for this or should I mappen the folders instead of harddrives as dru?

4. I have a temperary location now which is in the pool where my downloads are going before they are processed. How can i do that the smartest way when using stablebit and flexraid together. Should i buy yet another harddrive just for that or how can i do it the smartest way.

I'm sorry for the many questions but I just want to do it right the first time:)

Comments

• Resident Guru