Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Our Sites

covecube.com 
community.covecube.com 
blog.covecube.com 
wiki.covecube.com 
bitflock.com 
stablebit.com 

Poll

No poll attached to this discussion.

In order to better support our growing community we've set up a new more powerful forum.

The new forum is at: http://community.covecube.com

The new forum is running IP.Board and will be our primary forum from now on.

This forum is being retired, but will remain online indefinitely in order to preserve its contents. This forum is now read only.

Thank you,

Version 2 Beta on Windows 8

edited March 2013 in DrivePool

Hi,

I'm new to DrivePool and have just installed it with Windows 8 Pro 64 bit. I'm migrating WHS V1 data from the DE Folders using the guide that seems understandable except for a couple of areas the selections don't quite match up with Windows 8, but close enough to get that worked out. The problem I'm having is with the interface and the instructions in the migration guide:

My questions are in Red below each section of the guides instructions. Thanks.

Now that any wayward DE permissions have been (hopefully) dealt with:

* use Explorer to rearrange your folders, files, etc, on the drivepool drive to your liking, e.g. you might want to move everything under \Shares\Videos into \ServerFolders\Videos - and you don't have to keep the Shares folder if it ends up empty - or you can just leave it all as it is if you were happy with how you had your old WHS folders set up

* you'll be warned if you attempt to move, rename or delete a shared folder - HEED THIS WARNING

I see no ability to interact with folders in the Dashboard. How do I do that?

* use the Dashboard to "Add a folder" (NOT "Add a folder to the Pool") so you can "Browse" to the folders you want to share with your network from the drivepool drive